Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 76.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Queensland, AU
    Posts
    26
    Points
    206
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Question Running PT @ Home ... anyone!?

    Hey folks,

    I've seen a lot of folks talking about using/running a VPS. Was wondering, is anyone just running PT at home on an older, unused PC at all?

    I'm just finishing up preparing a PC from some left overs and was just going to run it on there. Any reason why I shouldn't?

    I've got Feeder and Tracker for PT as well. Are they likely to hammer the home bandwidth?

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.
    Kind regards,
    Dodgy Bob


    ~~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~~
    BTC:
    ETH: 0x9e9F4dfFA9Ae355834b1f310999DC92b8B4cB367
    LTC: LZSpRBhbkB19JD3t39HwTkREmhVmJMyhkv

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 76.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Queensland, AU
    Posts
    26
    Points
    206
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Dang!

    I just stumbled across this:

    https://wiki.profittrailer.com/doku....l_requirements

    Whilst the hardware and editing folders and files is no issue for me ... "can use up to 30GB/mth" in data allowance is huge and might turn into a deal breaker for me!?

    When I couldn't find the above info on PT's site, I just didn't think anything more of it. Right, well, then!

    Oh well, would still be handy hearing from those of you running PT at home. Has anyone been tracking their data usage since starting up PT?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 233, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Sunny South Fla
    Posts
    27
    Points
    233
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    If you have some greedy company like AT&T I can see the problem but more ISPs are going to 1tb per month. @Dodgy Bob - what is your cap?
    Eth Address: I am here to help. Please pass it on to someone who may need it more.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 76.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Queensland, AU
    Posts
    26
    Points
    206
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyBravoo View Post
    If you have some greedy company like AT&T I can see the problem but more ISPs are going to 1tb per month. @Dodgy Bob - what is your cap?
    Well, being as I am in Oz, my cap sucks - unless I want to pay big $$$, then you don't really get much! Add to that, in Oz, what you're really paying for is the data cap rather than the speed and that puts me in a real tight situation. See, I'm stuck on ADSL2+ and am too far away from the exchange to get a decent speed. Therefore I find it hard to justify spending extra $$$ for extra cap that I know I'm very unlikely to be able to use in a month!

    Short story: currently I'm on a 500GB plan, but that gets split into 2 halves; 250 is allocated to "peak" time which is 10am to midnight and the other half, the other 250GB, is for "off-peak", between midnight and 10am.

    Simple huh? And basically, thats how the vast majority of ADSL2+ plans go in Oz.

    Thinking about that 30GB/day that PT says it uses though, hopefully that would be if you had the 3 bot license and had 3 bots running perhaps? The page does say "PT can use about..."!?
    Kind regards,
    Dodgy Bob


    ~~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~~
    BTC:
    ETH: 0x9e9F4dfFA9Ae355834b1f310999DC92b8B4cB367
    LTC: LZSpRBhbkB19JD3t39HwTkREmhVmJMyhkv

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 31.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    20
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Hi,

    I have PT and PTF working from a home computer on an Australian TPG unlimited plan ($59.99AUD/mnth and available anywhere you can get optus). I've not had a VPS so I can't really compare (although I know that the virtual 2gb ram they claim is not really 2gb, more like 1.6gb).

    I have a bitching computer (i6700k, 32gb 3000mhz ram, etc) and so I can't really comment on an older one other than quoting the PT wiki saying you need 2gb per instance. I have seen a VPS crash when it doesn't meet this requirement (ie. 1gb ram will run until you remote desktop to it).

    What I can say is that I get a consistent 7.2gb of ram being used with normal computer use and 2 instances of the bot running. That is currently 6 cmd windows with PTFx2, PTx2 (eth and btc), and binance autoblacklist. I have had a few crashes of PT and I assumed it was the 16gb ram I had so I upgraded but it turns out it wasn't. It is websocket errors to the exchange which are common and unavoidable because they are on binance's end. I'm hoping PT V2 (currently in beta) will fix this kind of thing so it doesn't crash and I can stop watching it all the time.

    I don't see activity similiar to 30gb per day, that seems very very high however the bots have not been trading as intended either because of the market, but consider it a maximum. You could also easily use any QOS on your router to throttle it and make sure your network continues to work. I've experienced very few slow downs on approximately 8mpbs down/1.5mbps up connection.

    I hope this helps!
    Been into crypto since Dec 2017. Ask me about PT and PTF settings. Avoid DMs and post in the forum so that everyone can learn.

    ETH Wallet address - 0x3A0585D95EA13f5503252cE82341db3976c0f292

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to TFishy For This Useful Post:

    Dodgy Bob (04-11-2018)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 31.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    20
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    P.S. the worst thing about running from home on my type of connection is that it is not static and so I can't check my progress on PT remotely (except for telegram add-ons)
    Been into crypto since Dec 2017. Ask me about PT and PTF settings. Avoid DMs and post in the forum so that everyone can learn.

    ETH Wallet address - 0x3A0585D95EA13f5503252cE82341db3976c0f292

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 76.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Queensland, AU
    Posts
    26
    Points
    206
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the info there TFishy

    I'm still playing around with the PC I'm going to have PT running from - it's taking a little longer than I want it to due to various reasons - but I'm almost there now! Once all's said and done, given your info above, I think I'll be OK then.

    The only thing left will be to get some decent internet access, but I have to wait for NBN to pick their feet up on that one though
    Kind regards,
    Dodgy Bob


    ~~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~~
    BTC:
    ETH: 0x9e9F4dfFA9Ae355834b1f310999DC92b8B4cB367
    LTC: LZSpRBhbkB19JD3t39HwTkREmhVmJMyhkv

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 103, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    1
    Points
    103
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have been running one of my bots on a Pi3 for the last few weeks. It has been solid. It used about 200GB of monthly bandwidth. This bot is trading ETH on binance.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Andreas For This Useful Post:

    Dodgy Bob (04-15-2018)

  11. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 206, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 76.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points7 days registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Queensland, AU
    Posts
    26
    Points
    206
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andreas View Post
    I have been running one of my bots on a Pi3 for the last few weeks. It has been solid. It used about 200GB of monthly bandwidth. This bot is trading ETH on binance.
    Dang!

    Hmmm, so looks like this will be something I will need to keep an eye on then and make sure I monitor - at least in the first month. I'm thinking I'm going to need to upgrade my plan all the same though.

    Thanks for the info
    Kind regards,
    Dodgy Bob


    ~~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~~
    BTC:
    ETH: 0x9e9F4dfFA9Ae355834b1f310999DC92b8B4cB367
    LTC: LZSpRBhbkB19JD3t39HwTkREmhVmJMyhkv

  12. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 15, Level: 1
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    4
    Points
    15
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There's many affordable VPS out there suitable for PT. I'm using one with great supports.
    🔥Affordable VPS🔥
    1 GB RAM
    1 Core vCPU
    25 GB SSD Disk
    2 TB Data Transfer
    100 Mbps Shared Bandwidth
    1 IP Address
    USD5/Month

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •